2024 AIC Award Recipients

By AIC Official posted 04-16-2024 11:53


The American Institute for Conservation (AIC) would like to announce the 2024 recipients of our awards. Since 1974, AIC has awarded members and allied professionals for outstanding and distinguished contributions to the field of conservation.

David Magoon-University Products Conservation Advocacy Award for conservation professionals who have advanced the field of conservation and furthered the cause of conservation through substantial efforts in outreach and advocacy.

Martha Singer, Chief Conservator, Material Whisperer

Allied Professionals Special Recognition award for the work and contributions from professionals in other fields to the advancement of the conservation profession

Robin Hodgson, Owner, RH Conservation Engineering

Emerging Leader Award for outstanding service to the organization by a member in the early stage of their career

Abed Haddad, Assistant Conservation Scientist, Museum of Modern Art

Robert L. Feller Lifetime Achievement Award for exceptional contributions to the conservation profession throughout one's career

Abigail B. Quandt, Head of Book and Paper Conservation, The Walters Art Museum

Donna K. Strahan, Head, Department of Conservation and Scientific Research, National Museum of Asian Art

Forbes Medal for distinguished contributions to the field of conservation and celebrates those whose work on a national or international platform has significantly advanced the preservation of cultural heritage.

Debra Hess Norris, FAIC Board Member, Chair of the Art Conservation Department at the University of Delaware, and Professor of Photograph Conservation

Rutherford John Gettens Award for outstanding service to the organization.

Kerith Koss Schrager, Head of Conservation, National September 11 Memorial & Museum

Molly C. Gleeson, Head Conservator, Penn Museum

Honorary Membership for outstanding contributions to the conservation profession.

Tony Sigel, conservator of objects and sculpture in private practice

Sheldon and Caroline Keck Award for excellence in the education and training of conservation professionals

Michael C. Henry, Principal, Michael C. Henry, LLC / Watson & Henry Associates

Ann Shaftel, Director, Treasure Caretaker Training

Publication Award for excellence in an article or book on conservation.

Properties of Plastics: A Guide for Conservators by Thea van Oosten

Scientific Studies of Pigments in Chinese Paintings by Dr. Blythe McCarthy and Dr. Jennifer Giaccai

President Award for exceptional work in helping collections caretakers in Maui, Hawaii, respond to damage from the devastating August 2023 wildfires.

Liane Naauao, Paper Conservator, University of Hawaii at Manoa Library

Malia Van Heukelem, Archivist, Librarian and Collections Manager, University of Hawaii at Manoa Library

Foundation Service Award for outstanding service to the Foundation for Advancement in Conservation.

Max Marmor, recently retired President, Samuel H. Kress Foundation

Antoine "Ton" Wilmering, recently retired Senior Program Officer, Getty Foundation

Ross Merrill Award for Outstanding Commitment to the Preservation and Care of Collections honors institutions in North America that have shown an exemplary and sustained commitment to conservation and collections care through interpretation, research, scholarship, education, and/or public outreach.

The Walters Art Gallery

CAA/AIC Award for Distinction in Scholarship and Conservation

Han Neevel and Birgit Reissland

Note: Awarded by CAA this spring

Please join us in congratulating these recipients for 2024! We will present the awards at the Award Session at our 2024 Annual Meeting on Tuesday May 21, 2024, from 4:00pm - 6:00pm MDT. We will live stream and record the presentation for all members. Learn more about your colleagues and their contributions to the field. We know you will find it inspiring!