Congratulations to our 2022 AIC Award Recipients!


Join us in celebrating our award recipients

AIC is proud to announce the 2022 recipients of our awards for outstanding and distinguished contributions to the field of conservation. Please join us in celebrating their accomplishments at the Annual Awards Presentation on Saturday, May 14, 2022, during our 50th Annual Meeting in Los Angeles, California.

  • Scott Williams, Professor, School of Chemistry and Materials Science, Rochester Institute of Technology, will receive the Allied Professional Award for excelling as a mentor and as a staunch ally of the field of conservation. With an allied professional like Dr. Williams in our community, the future of conservation looks bright.
  • Stephen Koob, retired Chief Conservator at the Corning Museum of Glass, and Jeanne Marie Teutonico, Associate Director, Strategy and Special Initiatives, Getty Conservation Institute will receive the Robert L. Feller Lifetime Achievement Award for their exceptional contributions to the conservation profession over the course of their careers.
  • LaStarsha McGarity, Andrew W. Mellon Fellow in Objects Conservation at the National Gallery of Art, current PhD student in the University of Delaware Preservation Studies Program, and 2019 graduate of Buffalo State College, will receive the Emerging Leader Award for her outstanding service to AIC and the conservation discipline.
  • Alison Gilchrest, Director of Applied Research and Outreach, Institute for the Preservation of Cultural Heritage, Yale University, will receive the Forbes Medal for her distinguished contribution to the field of conservation.
  • Anisha Gupta, PhD Student, University of Delaware, and Anya Dani, Objects Conservator, Stanford University Archaeology Collections, will both receive the Rutherford John Gettens Award for their outstanding service to the association.
  • Kate Singley, Conservator in Private Practice, and Eryl Wentworth, former Executive Director of the American Institute for Conservation and the Foundation for Advancement in Conservation, will receive Honorary Membership for their outstanding contributions to the conservation profession over the course of their careers.
  • Ron Harvey, Conservator in Private Practice, and Glenn Wharton, Chair/Professor, Art History Department, UCLA/Getty Program in the Conservation of Cultural Heritage, will both receive the Sheldon & Caroline Keck Award for excellence in the education and training of conservation professionals.
  • Margaret "Peggy" Holben Ellis and Sarah Reidell will receive the President’s Award, which recognizes exceptional performance in the conservation profession. Peggy Ellis was selected for her untiring, decades-long contributions to the conservation profession in multiple capacities, including her recent strong and conscientious leadership as AIC president during a difficult period. Sarah Reidell is recognized for her exceptional work to foster communications and timely research in AIC, including her work as lead developer of the association’s COVID-19 pulse survey.
  • The publications Mooring a Field: Paul N. Banks and the Education of Library and Archives Conservators (2019) by Ellen Cunningham-Kruppa and Museum Lighting: A Guide for Conservators and Curators by David Saunders will be recognized with the Publication Award. The authors will accept the award for excellence in authoring a book on the field of conservation.
  • The Eastern State Penitentiary Historic Site will receive the Ross Merrill Award for Outstanding Commitment to the Preservation and Care of Collections for the importance and priority they have given to conservation concerns and the commitment they have shown to the preservation and care of their cultural property.

For more information about AIC's awards and to view past award recipients, visit